Payment for Utility Services in the USA

How utility services are paid in the USA?


Many ones who chose to bind their lives and work with another country tend to be interested in details and all aspects of living environment – particularly, cost of living, financial planning and expenditure analysis. Payment of utility bills is one of the most important positions in the list of future expenses along with taxpaying – therefore, it should be given special consideration.

Notion and Specifics

Every second Russian has a very strong notion of ‘one-storied’ America, a happy country, where virtually everyone lives in their own house.

It is so in general – most residents live in small districts consisting of 50-200 houses and dwell in standalone houses or in townhouses.

Such houses are as a rule united in small quarters and in each such quarter there are specific residential regulations. Each quarter has its own administrating companies, contractors and organizations supplying residents with everything the need – gas, water, communications, as well as a full range of services including garbage removal, lawn mowing, snow clearance in northern states and many others.

Purchasing or leasing a house, the future owner should necessarily familiarize themselves with all nuances of future living – study rates and regulations, find out the extent of responsibility for violation of rules.

How it happens


A new property owner contracts with utility services operators, whereupon they install metering devices in the house at their own expense and assign a personal code to the owner. That’s at – in future, payment for utility services will be made automatically through a bank as the bills are issued. Simple and convenient.

It should be noted that administrating companies cannot fully dispose of funds received in payment for utility services. These funds are received on a special trust account and banks and auditors supervise the use of funds.

A company may retrieve money from the trust account only after payment of all taxes and settlements with contractors. Such approach protects residents from abuses and corruption in the housing and utility field.

In other words, there are almost no problems with payment for utility services in the USA, the only issue concerns their cost. If the living conditions and services rates suit you, calm and comfortable life is guaranteed for you.

Оплата коммунальных услуг в США

Как в США оплачиваются коммунальные услуги?


Многих из тех, кто решил связать свою жизнь или работу с другой страной, как правило, интересуют подробности и аспекты всех сфер жизнедеятельности. В частности, стоимость жизни и финансовое планирование, анализ расходов. Оплата счетов за коммунальные услуги — это одна из важнейших позиций в списке предстоящих платежей, наравне с уплатой налогов, и поэтому на нее нужно обратить самое пристальное внимание.

Понятие и специфика

У каждого второго россиянина сложилось весьма устойчивое понятие об «одноэтажной Америке», благополучной стране, где практически каждый проживает в своем собственном доме.

В основном это так и есть - большая часть населения живет в небольших районах, состоящих из 50 - 200 домов, и проживает в индивидуальных домах либо таунхаусах.

Такие дома, как правило, объединяются в небольшие кварталы, и в каждом из таких кварталов действуют свои правила проживания. В каждом квартале есть свои управляющие компании, свои подрядчики и организации, снабжающие жильцов всем необходимым — это газ, электричество, вода, связь, а также целый комплекс услуг, включающих вывоз мусора, стрижку газонов, в северных штатах — расчистку снега и многое другое.

Приобретая или арендуя дом, будущий владелец должен непременно ознакомиться со всем нюансами будущего проживания — изучить правила, тарифы, узнать степень ответственности за неисполнение правил.

Как это происходит


Итак, новоиспеченный владелец недвижимости заключает договоры с операторами коммунальных услуг. После чего они за свой счет устанавливают в доме приборы учета и присваивают владельцу персональный код. И все, далее оплата коммунальных услуг происходит автоматически по мере выставления счетов в безналичном порядке. Просто и удобно.

Стоит отметить, что управляющая компания не может в полной мере распоряжаться полученными средствами за оплату коммунальных услуг. Эти средства поступают на специальный трастовый счет, и контроль за использованием средств осуществляют банки и аудиторы.

Снять деньги с трастового счета компания может только после оплаты всех налогов и расчетов с подрядчиками. Такой подход защищает жильцов от злоупотреблений и коррупции в жилищно-коммунальной сфере.

Другими словами, проблем с оплатой коммунальных услуг в США практически нет никаких, вопрос только в их стоимости. Если вам подходят условия проживания и тарифы на услуги — спокойная и благоустроенная жизнь вам будет гарантирована.